This French album gathers songs from the film Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs arranged for piano. It was published in 1938 and remained in print even after the war, even though the cover reads “A new Walt Disney feature”. It sold for FF20 and was published with the authorization of Walt Disney Mickey mouse S.A. by Salabert Editions, 22 rue Chauchat, Paris. The serial number, printed on each page, seems to be E.A.S. 12067. Each song could be bought separately in a similar piano arrangement for FF7, or in a simpler vocal arrangement for FF2. The only song heard in the film but not published in France is “The Washing Song”.

The first page lists the composer Frank Churchill, the lyricist Larry Morey and also the crew responsible for the French version: Stuart Buchanan, Marcel Ventura and Alfred A. Fatio. Yet, the lyrics provided here are not those heard in the film, but the ones heard on most commercial records. And that is the case for the English lyrics and the French lyrics, both included here. For instance, the song “Some Day My Prince Will Come” goes “Some Day I’ll Find My Love” instead of “Some Day We’ll Meet Again”‘.

The Songs

  • The Dwarf’s Yodel Song (The Silly Song)
  • Whistle While You Work
  • With a Smile and a Song
  • One Song
  • Some Day My Prince Will Come
  • Dig, Dig, Dig
  • Heigh Ho
  • I’m Wishing

The album